The Hermit, The Dog and The Rabbit

My father shared this little story to me, allow me to share it to you in the hopes that you will find something good out of it.

 

There was once an old holy man living alone in the edge of a desert. There were once many hermits like him who lived there in self abnegation and in deep spiritual contemplation. However, one by one, all the others left, unable to take the cruel heat and the constant lack of food and water.

One day a young man went to the holy man for some wisdom and guidance. As he was about to leave, he asked the holy man “Honored sir, may I ask how come that you still stayed here even though others had already left?”

The holy man replied, “My dog saw a rabbit one day and chased it. The other dogs saw my dog running and so they ran after my dog. One by one the other dogs stopped until only my dog remained.”

The young man thought this over for awhile and yet could not find in it the answer to his question. “Honored sir, how would that story answer my question?”

“You see, young man, only my dog saw the rabbit,” replied the Holy man with a smile.

 

After telling this story my father asked me, “Do you see the rabbit? Or are you just running because you see others doing it? Find the reason first why you are doing what you are doing before you start running, or you will end up like the other dogs.”

 

3 thoughts on “The Hermit, The Dog and The Rabbit”

  1. thank you so much yet again on your spectacular views you have shown on this website. It is so unbelievably open-handed of people like you to supply freely precisely what a number of people would’ve made available as an e book to earn some money for their own end, precisely since you could have tried it if you ever considered.

  2. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Comment away guys. Don't be a lazy ass,twiddle those fingers!

